Wednesday Flash Reviews – August 4th, 2010

04Aug10

Jumping right in this week, since my first draft was lost when the wordpress app crashed on my phone.   Curses!

Shadowland #2 – Solid.  So what we’re getting at here is that if Matt Murdock had been entrusted to carry The One Ring to Mordor, Middle Earth would have been screwed.  Right?

Brightest Day #7 – Solid.  Yeah, this is more like it.  Threads being pulled together here and the momentum is picking up.

Irredeemable #16 – Solid.  If you aren’t reading this series, you should be.  Somehow Waid manages to keep being inventive with superheroes.

Ultimate Avengers 2 #6 – Good.  As much as the pacing made me a little crazy, this payoff was worthwhile.  On the whole, a worthwhile story arc.

Amazing Spider-Man #639 – Abstain.  Yes, I’m not rating this one.  The previous issue was terrible, and this one is still rewriting past events, but somehow this one actually has me interested in what is coming next and the explanations.  However, it STILL feels like a bicycle kick to the head of long time Spider-Man fans.  It is both good and a nightmare at the same time, and it is incomplete…so I don’t know what grade to give it.

Marvel Universe vs The Punisher #1 – Solid.  Would be far more appealing if we didn’t already have six volumes of Marvel Zombies available to read.  If Punisher being immune to the zombie plague and having to kill everyone sounds appealing to you, then check it out.

R.E.B.E.L.S. #19 – Good.  Bedard is doing a good job with the Braniacs here, I like this.

Captain America #608 – Good.  Brubaker’s Cap run is simply consistently good reading.

Red Robin #15 – Solid.  But close to Meh.  For some reason, this trip through c-lister land is not doing it for me.  I love lesser-known characters, but this just isn’t grabbing me right now.

Shadowland Bullseye #1 – Meh.  The first thing I thought was “That was a  cute little Bullseye story.”  Then I realized that “cute” and “Bullseye” probably should never appear in the same sentence.  Unless Bullseye is killing cute bunny rabbits or puppy dogs.

Crossed Family Values #2 – Good.  A radical shift in the story line, and the most brutally violent issue since the first one of the original series.  I hope they are careful here.  So far, Crossed has worked because it effectively balances gore with characters and a dash of hope.  If it just turns into a chaotic gorefest, it will lose it’s momentum, I think.

S.H.I.E.L.D. #3 – Excellent.  Holy crap was this awesome.  The only thing that sucks about this book is that it is bi-monthly.  Just buy it.  The art is gorgeous and the story is just plain awesome.  Do not skip the two text pages on the back.  I’ve liked Hickman for a while, but this book is still a pleasant surprise.  Love it!

Batman Odyssey #2 – Good.  I know many of you disagree with me, but give me the gorgeous art and the energetic storytelling in this book over something that is paint-by-numbers in perfect continuity every day.  This issue starts to really spell out the direction of the series, and I enjoyed it a great deal.

Deadpool #1000 – Good.  If you like Deadpool, you’ll like this oversized collection of short stories and jokes.  I definitely liked it.

Superman: The Last Family of Krypton #1 – Solid.  What if Jor El had managed to get the whole family off of Krypton instead of just Kal El?  That’s the premise here.  I liked it and was interested to see where it went, but the art felt flat.

Supergod #4 – Very Good.  When Ellis is on, he’s on.  Crazy ideas blended with some good art and a story that I’m enjoying.

Baltimore: The Plague Ships #1 -Good.  Vampire hunting during the plague.  If you like Mignola’s work, this delivers.

Deadpool: Wade Wilson’s War #3 – Meh.  I like Deadpool…and I have no freaking clue what was going on here.  Let’s hope the last issue makes a bit more sense.

Avengers Prime #2 – Solid.  Lovely art makes it worthwhile for the story that is moving a touch slow.

No Responses Yet to “Wednesday Flash Reviews – August 4th, 2010”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

