Wednesday Flash Reviews – 7-21-10

21Jul10

Whew, what a week so far!  Lots of news and stuff I;ll be getting to later today, and then yesterday was the release for Scott Pilgrim Vol 6.  Based on sales of previous volumes and the recent surge, I figured I had enough Vol 6 on hand to last at least two weeks, but the Denton store sold out in a few hours!  Fortunately more are on the way and should be there today.  But for now, on to the new week’s books!

Ultimate Avengers 2 #5  – Solid.  Jeez, does this feel padded.  But the padding is gorgeous Leinil Yu art, so I’m only sort of complaining.  Just feels like this story could have been told much faster.

Thunderbolts #146 – Good.  Enjoying this a lot!  The team is feisty, and Luke Cage in charge is a good choice.

Neonomicon #1 – Good.  Take CSI, cross it with Alan Moore and you have this book.  Looking forward to where this goes.

Dark Wolverine #88 – Solid.  On one hand, this is a huge fight sequence, and, well….those usually don’t do much for me in comics.  On the other hand, I’m interested in this rematch, so I don’t hate it.

Time Masters: Vanishing Point #1 – Solid.  I liked this, but I’m also a DC fan.  Even so, I’m still confused by the version of Despero that shows up in this issue.  However, Rip Hunter is always awesome and this is a good starting point if you want to dig into some of DC’s more unique characters.

Avengers #3 – Solid.  The art is good, but the story is really disjointed and odd.  However, it IS a time travel story, so it probably should be disjointed at this point.

New Avengers #2 – Good.  I don’t know what it was about the team chasing after a rampaging, mystically powered-up Luke Cage that made me grin, but I got a real kick out of this issue.

Brightesy Day #6 – Solid.  Some overarching themes are finally beginning to really show through here.  I’m pretty sure this will continue to improve.

Amazing Spider-Man #638 – Horrible.  You have got to be freaking kidding me.  No one on Earth outside of Joe Quesada liked the story of splitting up the marriage of Peter and Mary Jane.  Amazing Spider-Man plowed through that and had begin to recover by virtue of just telling good stories ever since.   Then you just have to rip the scab off the wound with this crap.  Who wants to read this story, exactly?  Wow, just….wow.  After the last 8 issues featured two good, enjoyable stories, reading this atrocity made me want to rip the book in half after I was done.  Everything you hate about Marvel editorial from the last 10 years in one book!  They might salvage the story by the end of the arc, but this issue?  A real punch in the gut.  The only reason I can think of for this issue existing is that Joe Quesada must hate Spider-Man fans for some reason that has yet to be revealed.

Batman: Streets of Gotham #14 – Solid.  Good Batman stories.  Nothing wrong with that.

Walking Dead #75 – Very Good.  Holy crap, Rick is a jerk.  But this issue features a couple back ups that will have any Walking Dead fan happy.  More on Kirkman and this book later today!

Batman Beyond #2 – Solid.  I never watched Batman Beyond, but I’ve been told that part of the point of the series was to not simply have “future versions” of all of Batman’s villains.  Yet, they spend this entire issue seeing how many “future villains” they can cram into the book.  As a non-Batman Beyond watcher, it felt like Ultimate Batman, sorta.  I’m curious how Batman Beyond fans will feel.

Power Girl #14 – Good.  Story is still solid, and the art, again, is lovely.

Legion of Super-Heroes #3 – Solid.  Felt a bit rushed in the execution, but overall, still entertaining.

Deadpool: Merc with a Mouth #13 – Meh.  If you like Deadpool, this is decent.

Ultimate New Ultimates #3 – Solid.  I personally never get tired of Frank Cho art.

Justice Society of America #41 – Solid.  I’ll wait and see where this goes…but the appearance at the end gives me hope.

What are YOU reading this week?

No Responses Yet to “Wednesday Flash Reviews – 7-21-10”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

