Wednesday Flash Reviews – 6-9-2010

09Jun10

Go peek at the ratings scale here if you’re unfamiliar with it, then jump right in!

Titans #24 – Solid. I don’t hate this, but I don’t know where this book is coming from, either.  A team of villains running around doing…stuff.  There’s some mystery here with Deathstroke, but to be honest it just isn’t being presented very well.

Avengers Academy #1 – Solid.  Good ideas in here, but the issue felt very choppy.  Given a few issues, this book could get a lot better, I think

Meta 4 #1 – Good. I’m biased, I love Ted McKeever.  I don’t REALLY know what is going on here, but I like the tone, and I trust McKeever to pay it off in the long run.

Deadpool: Wade Wilson’s War #1 – Solid. If you like Deadpool, you’ll enjoy this.  If you don’t, this won’t change your mind.  I generally enjoy Deadpool, so take that for what you will.

Punisher Max #8 – Good. I really like this book.  This is how Punisher should be written, and I really like the fact that they’re using mainstream Marvel villains in this book.

Heralds #2 – Meh. Trees died for this book.

Predators #1 – Solid. A cool idea at the end of the first story is tossed out there, but it is not terribly exciting overall.

Uncanny X-Men #525 – Good. It’s pulled down to good because the book is suffering from an affliction that has struck several Marvel books this week.  Namely, the Unnecessary Splash Page Syndrome. (USPS, for short.)  I’m enjoying this storyline a great deal, but three pages are wasted on big spreads with little to no dialog or plot development.  This crap of a full page spread with one word balloon is really for the birds.  That said, this issue gets extra kudos for delivering a well-deserved kick to the crotch of the Watchmen movie.

Nemesis #2 – Solid. USPS strikes again!  Over and over and over!  Fortunately, the story pages are fairly dense, so it’s not too bad.  The book is a fun read, but nothing remarkable, yet.

Captain America #606 – Very Good.  Everyone should be reading Captain America if they aren’t already.  Brubaker’s run continues to be compelling reading.  I love it!

Ultimate Avengers 2 #3 – Solid.  If it is a Mark Millar book, it must be USPS!  This time the pages are by Yu, though, so I’m more content with them.  Still feels like a story at this point that could have easily been told in approximately four pages.

Justice League: Generation Lost #3 – Good.  Anything involved with the JLI, I am overly nostalgic for, so I might be giving this more credit that it deserves.  It is a good read though, and the pacing feels about right for a bi-weekly book.

Doom Patrol #11 – Solid.  A good Doom Patrol story.

Invincible Iron Man #27 – Good.  Fraction’s run is never bad, just sometimes isn’t exactly the most exciting book.  This week’s issue is the latter, but I’m still in for wherever it is headed.

Hack/Slash: My First Maniac #1 – Meh. I like Hack/Slash.  I’ve read two volumes of the collected editions.  It’s a fun book that pops with ideas as well as the occasional skull.  This book, which is supposed to be a jumping on point for new readers now that Hack/Slash has gone to Image, is nothing like the earlier stories.  It doesn’t flow at all, has little tension, and is bogged down with pages of dialog from Cassie whining about how terrible it is to be her.  I recommend reading Hack/Slash in general…just not this particular issue.

SHIELD #2 – Very Good.  Holy sweet mother is this book gorgeous.  I don’t know what Dustin Weaver has done before this, but wow is his art just beautiful.  Not quite as much happens story-wise in this issue that is more action than plot, but I don’t mind a whit.  I will be anxiously awaiting the next chapter.

Batman #700 – Very Good.  Have I ever mentioned how much I love Damian?  He is a great character and Morrison’s writing of him is fantastic to read.  But beyond that, this is a really good one-issue Batman tale, with wonderful art on every page.  Loved it.  Buy this book!

Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #11 – Meh.  Just not thrilled by this, sorry.

Young Allies #1 – Solid.  A bunch of characters who can’t carry a book on their own, so if we put them all in one book, maybe they can carry this one, right?  This book isn’t bad at all, but as someone unfamiliar with most of these characters, I wasn’t thrilled, either.

Astonishing X-Men: Xenogenesis #2 – Meh.  Did Warren Ellis and Mark Millar have a contest this week to see how many pages they could waste due to USPS?  Not as horrendous as the first issue, but still not a good book, either.

Booster Gold #33 – Solid.  But closer to Meh.  I’m actually torn on this.  I like the characters, the writers, the era the story is set in….but I really don’t like this trying to do a story that is filling in between issues of Generation Lost.  I understand trying to keep continuity, but this is a time-travelling book, it doesn’t have to pay as much attention to the DCU as other books might have to.  I’m sure next issue will be better.

Finally, a Very Good book from last week: A God Somewhere

This book seems to have been sort of unceremoniously dumped onto the market with very little marketing or fanfare, which is a shame, because it is a very compelling read.  It’s the story of a super-powered being appearing in the real world under mysterious circumstances, and focuses primarily on how his sudden emergence affects the people in his life.  It’s authentic, heartfelt storytelling, with really good art by the underrated Peter Snejbjerg.  This book is in the tradition of Watchmen, in all the best possible ways.  It’s a really good book, and I would encourage everyone to take a look.

One Response to “Wednesday Flash Reviews – 6-9-2010”

  1. 1 Doc T

    Hmmm… Will definitely check out ‘A God Somewhere’ next time I’m in the shop. Meanwhile, a nifty 8 page preview of ‘Blacksad’ and its gorgeously stunning art over at CA:
    http://www.comicsalliance.com/2010/06/09/preview-blacksad-by-juan-diaz-canales-and-juanjo-guarnido/


Leave a Reply

